More Angular 2 Baby Steps

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been drowning in huge amount of new information, trying to self-learn with the help of my fellow developers what is Angular2 and how to build modern NodeJS+Angular2 projects.

Well the process is not easy. There are tones of write-ups and tones of opinions. New insights become obsolete in very short time and one can never be sure if what is written is even still applicable and if it is in any way best-practice.

I found myself a bit overwhelmed. I was not sure where/how to start this exciting journey.

Here are few things and data sources I’ve used so far:

Perhaps the first iteration that I had was with the Tour Of Heroes tutorial. While there are several things I would probably do differently now, IMHO this is still the best way to start.

The second thing that I was searching for is how to structure a project if you have backend APIs using Express and client side using Angular2. To tell you the truth that was not easy for me and what helped me was the MEAN App with Angular 2 tutorial. It is not perfect for what I need but it sure gave me an insight into some of the consideration on how to organize my project.

The next obstacle for me was the integration with Bootstrap.  In AngularJS (or Angular 1) I used the Angular-UI package. The same team also delivers now Angular 2 support. However, I gave the ng2-bootstrap package a try and at least for me it did the work well and seems to be a bit more native to angular 2.

With these initial set of packages and tutorials I felt good enough to start to experiment with this brand new world of Angular 2. This is just the beginning. Stay tuned…

 

Author: dave

Consider myself kid in soul and naive by choice. I am interested in people, technology and business and thrive when they all work together. My favorite quote and motto is that “You can fool some people some times but you cant fool all the people all the time” ― Bob Marley

Leave a Reply

