When MacBook met iPad, the MacPad

Few weeks ago Apple released yet another new machine. There were two claims “the future of MacBook” and “hybrid between MacBook and iPad”. I had a chance to check out one of these puppies and here are my thoughts.

The new MacBook Air is indeed an amazing machine. Light, elegant, strong enough (storage is a little small for my taste but not a biggie). If I was planning to replace my MacBook the new MacBook Air might be the one to buy. Indeed the first claim is accurate this machine represents “the future of MacBook” or the “new MacBook (Air)”. I can speculate that every new version of MacBook, from the lower-end to the higher-end will include more and more elements taken from this machine, such as the final removal of the good old hard-drive. It just makes sense.

However, as for the second claim “hybrid between MacBook and iPad”, in my opinion, it is not there. This one feels to me as one of these marketing fluffs where Apple is testing the waters and checking if this makes sense (and it does!).

So what is really a hybrid MacBook/iPad machine?

My dream hybrid machine will have two work modes, one as an iPad and second as a MacBook, it will have a smooth transition between the modes (not like the current tablets with the cumbersome and breaking prone flip of screen), it will have the simple user experience of iOS while working as iPad and the rich user experience of MacOS while working in MacBook mode, it will have screen touch abilities in both modes and it will also have built-in 3G capabilities for both modes. I call that new machine the MacPad and I am hopping Apple will indeed build such a hybrid machine and soon. Searching a little bit around the web I saw that I am not alone, there are others with similar ideas. Below is a picture of one of those concepts of how a MacPad could potentially look like, enjoy!

MacPad concept
MacPad concept
Author: dave

Consider myself kid in soul and naive by choice. I am interested in people, technology and business and thrive when they all work together. My favorite quote and motto is that “You can fool some people some times but you cant fool all the people all the time” ― Bob Marley

Leave a Reply

